This site uses cookies to store information on your computer. By using this site, you consent to the placement and use of these cookies. Read our Privacy Policy to learn more. ACCEPT


Diocesan vs Religious


Diocesan Priesthood

In many ways, all Catholic priests are the same. Each priest has gone through years of education and preparation at a seminary before his ordination. Priests are ordained to preach the Gospel and serve the people of God in the person of Christ. Most importantly, they administer the sacraments of the Church and help people get to heaven. Priests makes three promises at ordination: 1) to pray the Liturgy of the Hours daily; 2) to obey his bishop; and 3) to live a celibate life. Their lives are very much like that of their people, in the sense that they buy their own clothes and car, they pay taxes, and they may own personal property. That is why a diocesan priest is sometimes called a secular priest (from the Latin saeculum, a word that means roughly “this world of time and space in which we live”).

A diocesan priest belongs to the body of priests (called the presbyterate) of a local diocese, which is a particular territory within a state or country. The Diocese of Brooklyn comprises Kings (Brooklyn) and Queens Counties in New York City. A diocesan priest normally serves within the boundaries of his diocese under the authority of his bishop. Most often, a diocesan priest is assigned to a parish by the bishop, and he lives and works in that area. His main work is preaching the Gospel, celebrating the Holy Sacrifice of the Mass, anointing the sick and dying, baptizing, celebrating marriages, burying the dead, and consoling those who need his help. His main focus is the needs of those in his parish.


Religious Life

A member of a religious order belongs to a community of men or women who are bound together by faith and the vows of poverty, chastity and obedience. Poverty means that they do not own things individually but rather as a group; chastity means that they refrain from sexual activity and do not marry; obedience means that, after appropriate consultation, they do what their superiors ask them to do. These three ways of living are called the Evangelical Counsels because they are recommended to Christians by our Lord as part of His Gospel. Interestingly, the Catechism teaches that every Christian is called to live the Evangelical Counsels according to his state of life, though religious priests live them in a “more intimate” way (CCC #916).

Some members of religious orders are ordained priests and deacons. Those who are not in Holy Orders are called ‘brother’ or ‘sister. The members of a religious community engage in any kind of work for the Church and for the good of humanity. Religious communities have their individual charism or type of lifestyle and mission that is particular to that community. Religious communities specialize in various kinds of work such as education, work with the sick or poor, and service in foreign missions. The person discerning a vocation to religious life chooses a religious community based on its lifestyle and mission. Some communities live very austerely while others do not. Some have missions with the elderly, youth, or the poor. Some serve as teachers in schools or evangelists in other countries. Most often, they live in community with each other instead of among people in a parish.

How to Choose

Is one “better” or “holier” than the other? Absolutely not. If you have questions or doubts about whether God is calling you to religious life or to diocesan priesthood, get in contact with your Vocation Director. He is familiar with both vocations and can be very helpful in guiding you as you discern what path of life God is calling you to.

Be Inspired

Stories of Priests

steve harveys cbd gummies can you take cbd gummies with propranolol thc gummies pain cbd infused chill plus gummies watermelon slices natures stimulant cbd gummies for sex is delta 9 gummies safe how many cbd gummy bears a day who sells cbd gummies for sleep can you send thc gummies in mail how much are cbd gummies cost deltiva delta 8 gummies review puur cbd gummies 2024mg dr oz cbd gummies cvs just cbd gummi bears is 20 mg of thc gummies alot where to buy keoni cbd gummies near me cbd gummies affiliate program bull cbd gummies karas orchards cbd gummies ingredients colorado cbd gummies stores

bio lyfe cbd gummies ed can you make penis bigger fab cbd gummies how to make penis bigger without surgery bull blood male enhancing pills increase size cbd gummies for ed at walgreens 6 months on penis englargement pills male enhancement pills side effects blood pressure how to make sex last longer male dr ozs erectile dysfunction pills boner pills truck stop brown penis enlargement pill erectin xl gummies power cbd gummies penis enlargement virility cbd gummies intense male enhancement pills heart attack pure hemp gummies what pills makes penis erect amazon reviews of sugar free gummy bears can weight loss pills make your penis smaller

speedy keto acv bhb gummies supplements to combine with hydroxycut platinum for weight loss best weight loss supplements at sprouts shark tank invest in weight loss gummies how to supplement protein for weight loss weight loss gummies at walmart where can i buy metabolix keto acv gummies when should i take goli apple cider vinegar gummies top quality weight loss supplements apple cider vinegar gummies or liquid are weight loss supplements banned by ncaa active boost keto gummies mulittea keto gummies reviews medicine weight loss gummies what are the shark tank gummies for weight loss react keto gummies reviews melatonin supplement and weight loss tightrtone keto gummies good keto gummies side effects keto acv gummies 750 mg sentara weight loss gummies weight loss supplements perimenopause